Da Costa and the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV co-reign in Monaco
print mail share
west All articles
print mail share

Da Costa and the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV co-reign in Monaco


Defending champion Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) steered his MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped all-electric single-seater to glory in the Principality of Monaco which, for the first time, hosted Formula E action around the long version of its famous circuit.

The efficiency of Formula E’s latest-generation cars and their bespoke MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tires enabled the organizers to switch to the long version of Monaco’s celebrated track for the first time to mark the championship’s fourth visit to the Principality’s streets.

The loop included such famous racing landmarks as Sainte-Dévote, Casino Square, Le Tunnel and Rascasse which provided a sparkling backdrop for the 24 drivers who responded by delivering a superb show. The passing maneuver of Jaguar Racing’s Mitch Evans around the outside up the Sainte-Dévote climb and da Costa’s overtaking move under braking out of the tunnel are sure to stand out as two highlights of the championship’s seventh campaign.

“The fact that Da Costa pulled off his superb move on the final lap speaks volumes for the longevity and consistency of the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV and for the confidence the drivers had in their tires all the way to the checkered flag,” notes Jérôme Mondain, manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E program. “Monaco is one of motor racing’s best-known venues and it was an extremely positive day there for the MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV. Both the teams and drivers were unanimous in their praise for its performance.”

Round 7 of the 2020/2021 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship as won by da Costa, ahead of Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing) and Evans, while Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team) picked up the fastest race lap to make up for his otherwise difficult day.

The next port of call for the series will be Puebla, Mexico, on June 19-20, ahead of trips to New York, USA, London, United Kingdom and then Berlin, Germany, for the season’s finale on August 14-15.

Monaco E-Prix – Final positions:

  1. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), 26 laps

  2. Robin Frijns (Envision Virgin Racing), +2.848s

  3. Mitch Evans (Jaguar Racing), +2.872s

  4. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +3.120s

  5. Maximilian Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport), +3.270s