Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther
print mail share
west All articles
print mail share

Formula E: Santiago glory for Max Günther


The 2020 Santiago E-Prix in Chile saw Maximilian Gunther score his maiden Formula E victory at the wheel of his Michelin Pilot Sport-equipped BMW iFE.20.

Round 3 of the 2019/2020 ABB FIA Formula E Championship was always going to be one of the season’s most challenging for Michelin Motorsport because of the extremely hot southern-hemisphere weather and the Chilean street circuit’s aggressive surface.

The Michelin Pilot Sport took the punishing conditions in its stride, however, to provide yet another illustration of its performance and durability and pave the way for what turned out to be a highly entertaining race that concluded with a photo finish.

After being deprived of pole position at December’s e-prix in Saudi Arabia due to an infraction, Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) bounced back to become the championship’s youngest ever winner at the age of 22.

The German emerged in front at the race’s midpoint thanks to a decisive move on pole-sitter Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing/Michelin) while his Attack Mode was activated.

Meanwhile, Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) got the better of Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin), Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin) and Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing/Michelin) to go third. He then went on to pass Evans to appear in second spot.

Günther and Da Costa then produced a superb scrap all the way to the finish, with the German taking the lead for good on the final lap.

Sixth-placed Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ/Michelin) has gone to the top of the provisional championship standings, ahead of Alexander Sims (BMW I Andretti Motorsport/Michelin) who was one of the six drivers who failed to finish in Santiago. The day’s fastest race lap was the work of Oliver Rowland (Nissan e.dams/Michelin).

Next round: Mexico City E-Prix (February 15)

Santiago E-Prix – final positions:

1. Max Günther (BMW I Andretti Motorsports), 40 laps

2. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +2.067s

3. Mitch Evans (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), +5.119s

4. Pascal Wehrlein (Mahindra Racing), +7.050s

5. Nyck de Vries (Mercedes-Benz EQ), +9.883s

6. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes-Benz EQ), +11.237s

7. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler), +14.437s

8. James Calado (Panasonic Jaguar Racing), +18.255s

9. Felipe Massa (Rokit Venturi Racing), +20.430s

10. Sam Bird (Envision Virgin Racing), +21.780s