Mercedes/Michelin triumphs in Monaco
print mail share
west All articles
print mail share

Mercedes/Michelin triumphs in Monaco


Belgium’s Stoffel Vandoorne steered his Michelin Pilot Sport EV-equipped Mercedes EQ Silver Arrow to victory at the Monaco E-Prix, ahead of pole-winner Mitch Evans (Jaguar/Michelin) and two-time Formula E champion Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah/Michelin).

For the second year running, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship visited the full Monaco grand prix circuit (3.337km), including the world-famous Sainte Dévote, Casino Square and La Rascasse turns, and the spectacular Tunnel.

The legendary venue called for competitive tires to give the drivers the confidence they needed to treat the spectators to numerous impressive passing maneuvers, plus the necessary efficiency for them to manage their energy allowances all the way to the checkered flag.

The win ended up in the hands of Vandoorne who got the better of pole-sitter and early leader Evans to put himself and Mercedes at the top of the championship’s provisional standings. The efforts of third-placed Vergne were thwarted when he activated his second Attack Mode period just as the Safety Car was dispatched to enable the TAG Heuer Porsche FE Team/Michelin of the then race-leader Pascal Wehrlein to be cleared.

The top five was rounded out by Robin Frijns (Envision Racing/Michelin), who clocked the fastest race lap, and Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah/Michelin) who fought back from 10th on the grid to claim fifth.

The next round will take the Formula E field to Berlin, Germany, for two races at the city’s notoriously abrasive Tempelhof Airport on May 14-15.

Monaco E-Prix – Final positions:

  1. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team), 30 laps

  2. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), +1.285s

  3. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +3.293s

  4. Robin Frijns (Envision Racing), +3.467s

  5. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +3.952s