A second covers Jakarta top-three!
print mail share
west All articles
print mail share

A second covers Jakarta top-three!


The first-ever Jakarta E-Prix’s podium finishers Mitch Evans, Jean-Eric Vergne and Edoardo Mortara representing three different MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV-equipped constructors (Jaguar, DS and Venturi) were split by less than a second at the checkered flag in Indonesia!

Indonesia’s round of the 2022 Formula E World Championship – the first FIA-sanctioned event to be hosted by the country in 16 years – lived every bit up to its promise.

For the 10th clash of the season, the teams faced the challenge of a new, purpose-designed, 2.370-kilometer circuit in Ancol Beach City. Its recently-laid asphalt provided good grip that allowed the drivers to push all the way to the flag on their MICHELIN Pilot Sport EV tires in spite of the heat (33°C) and high humidity levels (70%).

“All the drivers praised the consistency and longevity of our tires today,” reports Mirko Pirracchio, the manager of Michelin Motorsport’s Formula E program. “We hadn’t been expecting the track surface to be so abrasive and the fact that the drivers were authorized to use just two sets in total meant we had to pay close attention to the weather and its influence on the teams’ respective strategies.”

The race produced a splendid scrap at the sharp end, with Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), Vergne (DS Techeetah) and Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing) trading the lead as a function of their respective Attack Mode periods.

The Jaguar driver managed to find a way past his DS Techeetah rival on Lap 32 and then held firm after a late Safety-Car interruption to claim his third victory of the campaign. Vergne had earlier earned his 15th start from pole-position in Formula E but had to settle for second spot in the race. He ended up just 0.733s behind the day’s winner, but only 0.234s safe from Mortara.

Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah) and Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes AQ FE Team) followed in fourth and fifth places.

Vandoorne continues to top the provisional Drivers’ standings after the trip to southeast Asia but the top-four is now blanketed by a mere 12 points. The next round of the championship will take teams to Africa for the Marrakesh E-Prix in Morocco on July 2.

Jakarta E-Prix – Final positions:

  1. Mitch Evans (Jaguar TCS Racing), 40 laps

  2. Jean-Eric Vergne (DS Techeetah), +0.733s

  3. Edoardo Mortara (RoKit Venturi Racing), +0.967s

  4. Antonio Felix da Costa (DS Techeetah), +3.350s

  5. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes EQ FE Team), +4.038s