print mail share
west All articles
print mail share



Exciting 25th Petit Le Mans Decides IMSA Champions

  • Meyer Shank Racing wins race and DPi championship
  • Vasser Sullivan Lexus takes GTD PRO, Pfaff Porsche claims GTD
  • Hagler and Lewis Repeat as Michelin Pilot Challenge Champions

Braselton, Georgia — October 1, 2022 – Michelin and IMSA celebrated the 25th Petit Le Mans as it was originally envisioned: a celebration of the speed, passion and technology endurance sports car racing presents for the fans.

“The amount of growth at Petit Le Mans over the past 25 years has been tremendous,” said Jason Anzalone, director of motorsports, Michelin North America. “Great IMSA competition on the track and unmatched access for the fans continues to be a powerful combination.”

The fast and flowing 2.54-mile Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta circuit features 12-turns, technical challenges, elevation changes and evolving track conditions. The 10-Hour Motul Petit Le Mans progressed from its sunny start at noon and carried through the afternoon, sunset and into the evening darkness.

“This week was a fitting conclusion to the 2022 IMSA season. Michelin extends our thanks to all the manufacturers, teams and drivers who helped us demonstrate our leading performance technology in premier competition,” said Anzalone.


Meyer Shank Acura Wins Petit Le Mans and Final DPi Championship

The No. 60 Meyer Shank Racing Acura team wrote the final chapter of the DPi era with a Petit Le Mans victory and DPi championship. Oliver Jarvis and Tom Blomqvist were season champions. The two were helped by Helio Castroneves during the 10-hour race.


Vassar Sullivan Lexus Takes Race, Pfaff Motorsports Wins GTD Pro Championship

Jack Hawksworth, Ben Barnicoat and Kyle Kirkwood drove the No. 14 Vasser Sullivan Lexus to victory in a Lexus RC F. This marked the second GTD Pro victory for Lexus. Pfaff Motorsports sealed the GTD PRO championship with Matt Campbell and Mathieu Jaminet by starting the race in the Porsche 911.


Gradient Racing Triumphs, Heart of Racing Aston Martin Nabs GTD Championship

Acura also found victory with the drive of Kyffin Simson, Till Bechtolsheimer and Mario Farnbacher of Gradient Racing in GTD. Heart of Racing was crowned GTD champions with the Aston Martin Vantage and driver Roman De Angelis.

Tower Motorsport Finishes First, John Farano Takes LMP2 Championship

No. 8 Tower Motorsport had a big day at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta. The team won Petit Le Mans with John Farano, Louis Deletraz and Rui Pinto de Andrade. They also became season champions with Farano.

Andretti Autosport Victorious, Core Autosport Wins LMP3 Championship

Jarrett Andretti, Gabby Chaves and Josh Burdon took the checkered flag in first place for Andretti Autosport. The LMP3 season championship went to Core Autosport and drivers Jon Bennett and Colin Braun.


Hagler and Lewis Repeat as Michelin Pilot Challenge Champions

Bryan Herta Autosport won the Michelin Pilot Challenge TCR championship with drivers Taylor Hagler and Michael Lewis piloting a Hyundai Elantra N for the second year in a row. In GS, Volt Racing took the championship with Alan Brynjolfsson and Trent Hindman driving an Aston Martin Vantage.

Turner Motorsport with Bill Auberlen and Dillon Machavern driving a BMW M4 got their second victory of the year in GS, winning the Fox Factory 120. Victor Gonzalez Racing took their second TCR win of the year in a Honda Civic FK7 piloted by Victor Gonzalez and Karl Wittmer. The two teams also won the IMSA Radio Michelin Moment of the Race


Michelin Scorecard

Michelin created a scorecard showcasing the breadth of manufacturer success in IMSA. 14 manufacturers won during the 2022 IMSA season with all 17 reaching the podium. Porsche had the most victories of the year with 8 class wins.

Michelin Post-Race Notes

  • Porsche Carrera Cup North America saw Parker Thompson become the 2022 champion. Thompson won the first race at Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta in his Porsche 992 with JDX Racing. Lauren Heinrich claimed the second race with 311RS Motorsport in a Porsche 992.
  • The final season of Prototype Challenge concluded with Tonis Kasemets winning the race and season championship. The new IMSA VP Racing SportsCar Challenge debuts in 2023 with LMP3 and GT4 cars.
  • A lot has changed in sportscar racing since the first Petit Le Mans 25 years ago. But two things have not changed. IMSA’s vison for the fans and Michelin’s commitment to sportscar and endurance racing. Watch how in the Michelin Tire Tech Minute
  • Attention quickly turns to the new top class of IMSA. The highly anticipated IMSA GTP (LMDh) entries from Acura, BMW, Cadillac and Porsche will race in 2023! Before the racing begins, there will be testing at both Michelin Raceway Road Atlanta and Daytona International Speedway. Michelin is working closely with teams to deliver outstanding performance for these exciting new cars.

Next up:

The 2023 IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Championship begins the season at Daytona International Speedway in Florida with the Rolex 24. The race is Saturday, January 28.